Why Is It So Important to Be Perfect?

(I wrote this a few months ago for another blog I have that I don’t keep up with anymore. I like it though so I’m re-posting it here.)

Why is your happiness based on perfection? What is the point? What will it obtain for you?

Perfection doesn’t exist. We live in an imperfect world. Just because you think you know what perfection looks like does not mean it exists.

I am a perfectionist. I beat myself up sometimes about “not doing it perfect”. It’s this voice in my head. Not a “I need medication due to the voices” kind of voice. It’s the negative voice that I’ve been learning many people have.

The voice that tells me I failed, that I can’t do something, that I didn’t do it right, that I could be better, that it’s not good enough, that people will hate what I do, that I can never succeed.

The bitter voice of perfection.

I’ve learning a good technique to deal with the VOP. Ask it why.

“You failed”

“Why?”

“Because I said so. You didn’t do it perfect. It could have been done so much better.”

“Why is that so important?”

“Um..well..because it is important to do your best!”

“But I did it to the best of my ability, isn’t that my best? Why isn’t that good enough?”

“Um…I..uh..because it’s not perfect.”

“But it got done, and after all, why is it so important? What exactly will perfection obtain for me?”

“Love”

“I already have that!”

“Acceptance”

“That too.”

“um………”

“Yeah, thats what I thought.”

I have this conversation with myself every time the VOP comes up. It always seems to go nowhere, which highlights just how pointless chasing perfection is. Perfection will not bring you happiness because it will always be impossible, and because the whole point of perfection is being PERFECT. So you will always “fail”.

Hard work is good. Doing your best is good. Just keep it reasonable, ya know?

It’s hard for me to publish this post, because it’s not “perfect”. But I’m posting it anyways, to prove a point to myself and anyone reading this.

Are you ignoring what you have succeeded at by focusing on what you didn’t do perfectly? So what do you think perfection will obtain for you? Are you avoiding something because you can’t do it perfectly?


P.Magpie

